Welcome to the pen!

25 Mar

Call me biased, but I genuinely, wholeheartedly believe that my Mum, Annie, is a sensational cook. She’s the benchmark; the one who her brothers and sisters turn to for recipes and pray will be taking charge of the menu at Christmas time, which is no mean feat in light of the fact that she’s the youngest of 14 children!

In saying that, it’s hard to say when my love affair with food really bloomed. I was definitely slow on the uptake.

In fact, as a youngster my brothers’ skills far surpassed mine in the kitchen. I was always the designated salad maker (the chopper) whilst they would be in charge of making the pizzas or tacos or creamy bacon pasta – that was about as adventurous as we got (there was none of the Junior Masterchef child prodigy brilliance going on in our household!).

Maybe I was pushed along by the fact that both of my brothers were far more competent in the kitchen than me…we’re a competitive bunch.

I do have to attribute some credit to my good friend and former flatmate Caitie (who I may try and rope into writing a post or two on her delicious cooking). Whilst the rest of the uni students I knew were feeding on stir fries and burritos, Caitie could be found in the kitchen baking muffins for morning tea and Moussaka for dinner! She was always well ahead of the pack on the gastronomic front; her 21st birthday wish list included a KitchenAid stand mixer and an Atomic coffee maker!

It’s no surprise that these days the top two on my cooking ‘lifeline’ list are my Mum and Caitie!

Enough about my past. This blog is about my future. I love food, I love travel and I especially love beautiful landscapes (all 3 at once is pure joy!!).

I also love sharing my ‘unearthings’ with anyone who will listen.  I’ve long dreamt of combining these pleasures with my passion for writing…it’s just taken me a while to get around to it!! That’s what this is about, nothing and everything!

So here is my blog. I hope you enjoy reading my posts – I’d love to hear (or read) your thoughts on what I have to share with you!

Little Miss Piggie xx

PS. I’m editing this over a Friday afternoon glass of red wine, feeling particularly excited about the coming autumn days. I’m leavin’ the big smoke bright and early tomorrow morning for a weekend away with my handsome man. I’ve no idea where we are going, but I will be sure to share it with you next week…

‘Til then!

2 Responses to “Welcome to the pen!”

  1. Elspeth Barker April 21, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    Mustard!!! this is fab! SO pleased you have found a way to combine your loves.
    Best piggie I know xxxx

Leave a Reply

