A sweet sweet start to the day…

14 Apr

This is a big call to make, but I reckon breakfast is my all-time favourite repast of the day. Everyday.

Seriously though, I could wake up at 1pm on the weekend (it doesn’t happen often, I swear) and still feel the need to have breakfast. How people skip or forget it has me in a quandary!

I think the most wonderful thing about the concept of breakfast is that it can be hot or cold; sweet or savoury; wicked or nutritious. The options are endless. Sweet is my personal favourite… like a morning dessert! Yum!

Anyway, I’m sure you’ve got my point…In my humble opinion, breakfast is the SHIZ-NIZZLE!!! And in light of that, I thought I would share with you my Thursday morning sweet, warm breakfast delight.

Seems a little extravagant for an ordinary Thursday morning, I know, but life’s far too short for Weetbix I say!

I don’t think this one needs a recipe as such, just a list of the delicious elements that make up this stack of goodness!

– 2 slices of bread – I used Ancient Grains Sourdough Rye Fruit Nut & Seed bread from Thomas Dux – possibly the best fruit loaf I have ever tasted, but you could use any type of bread – plain sourdough would be delicious, or even just a couple of thick slices of wholegrain or wholemeal bread…

– Fresh ricotta or natural yoghurt to spread on the toast. Either is amazing. I know the idea of yoghurt on toast perplexes some, but trust me on this one…the tartness of the natural yoghurt contrasts beautifully with the sweet, soft figs.

– A couple of perfectly ripe figs

– a generous drizzle of honey

Toast the bread in a toaster, add ricotta/yoghurt, figs & honey then pop it under the grill for a minute or two to warm up the figs and honey for the best result!

Et voila, breakfast indulgence at its finest!

My figalicious fruit toast

NOTE: Put this one on top of your ‘to make’ pile because fig season won’t last too much longer!

Bonne weekend,

Miss Piggie x

I think the most wonderful thing about the concept of breakfast is that it can be hot or cold, sweet  or savoury and big or small. The options are endless. Just as an offside, sweet is my personal favourite… like a morning dessert! Mmmmmyummmmmm!

2 Responses to “A sweet sweet start to the day…”

  1. Lauren April 26, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    Figalicious! Have tried this recipe twice and hope to many more times before the season is out.. Hanging out for the next installment lmp!!

    • littlemisspiggie April 30, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

      I’ve got more in the fridge…looking forward to breakfast tomorrow!!!! xxx

Leave a Reply

