I smell a physical challenge!

29 Apr

Is it just me, or are there others out there who have a habit of tearing sumptuous looking recipes out of newspapers and magazines, stacking them in the back of a once-very-organised recipe journal & forgetting about them until you’re searching for an old favourite and happen to stumble across a thick pile of glossy magazine pages, forgetting which recipe you actually fancied when you decided it was journal worthy *deep breath* ???

In all seriousness, I’d love to know if there are other tearers out there. Do you have a system? First in first cooked perhaps?

Anyway, in light of my ambitious recipe collecting, I’ve decided it’s time to stage an intervention.

I’m setting myself a challenge…not the Julie & Julia type, rather a proactive way of motivating myself to be a little more adventurous! I like to think of it as more of a weeding process…sorting the Harry Heroes from the Average Janes if you like!

THE CHALLENGE

Cross one recipe per week off my ‘to-cook’ list.

THE GAME PLAN

The plan is to flick through my recipe scrapbook each Sunday & choose one recipe to recreate in the coming week that I’ve never tried before!

Don’t worry, I don’t plan to bore you with anecdotes about every single recipe, but rest assured you will be the first to know when I stumble upon a winning dish or combo!

The mission for this week is Magret de Canard Rotis, Riz Sauté aux Legumes…That’s right, I’m starting with a ball breaker! Not only am I on debut with the recipe, I have never actually cooked with duck breast before, full stop (shame on me)!  And just to up the ante a touch more, I tore this little firecracker out of Elle Table magazine…the French version…ouch…talk about setting oneself up for failure!

I guess you’ll work out whether or not it was a success by the content of my next post. Stay tuned people!

On another note, I was introduced to a very interesting way of making pizza dough last weekend. It’s perrrfect for the time-poor, or anyone who has shied away from the seemingly laborious task of kneading, proving & rolling in the past!

The thing is, I’m not going to give you the recipe until I’ve tried it myself and can vouch for its excellence. Sorry folks, I feel like I’ve just cut to an ad break! Gotta keep you coming back though 😉

And what about Easter…?

I must admit, I was quite lazy this year. The Easter break is usually a great opportunity to get your hands dirty in the kitchen and cook lovely food for family and friends. I certainly planned to do that, but just didn’t quite get there.

The most creative I got was to make some Rocky Road, of which I’m not usually much of a fan, however this one was delectable and very more-ish (which may have had something to do with the puddles of rum I poured into it)!

This is a great recipe if you’re strapped for time or not much of a baker!

That’s it for this week friends! Lots to come…watch this space!!!

Miss Piggie xxx

Yummy Rummy Rocky Road

The main ingredients you’ll find in traditional Australian Rocky Road recipe are marshmallow, milk chocolate, glace cherries, coconut, peanuts and/or Turkish delight, however because I find a fair portion of these ingredients utterly repulsive, I decided to make up my own recipe with similar textures.

  • 150 g dark chocolate roughly chopped
  • 50 g milk chocolate roughly chopped
  • A touch of milk
  • 20 g unsalted butter
  • 50 g chopped hazelnuts
  • Marshmallows chopped
  • Sultanas
  • Shredded or desiccated coconut
  • 50 ml Dark rum (or to taste) – this could be substituted for many other spirits/liqueurs depending on what you have in the cupboard (ie. Baileys, Cointreau, Frangelico etc)

The method is super easy…

Place the two types of chocolate, rum, butter and a splash of milk in a heatproof bowl over a pot of simmering water (making sure water isn’t touching the bottom of the bowl). Allow to melt, stirring until smooth.

Remove from the heat and stir in the nuts, sultanas, coconut and marshmallows (add as much or little as you want, depending on whether you prefer are more chocolate or chunks in your rocky road!).

Remember, this isn’t like baking a cake. Chocolate will set regardless so play with the ingredients and add more or less of anything to suit your tastes!

Spread the mixture into a pan and chill for a couple of hours until firm.

All up this should only take you 10-15 minutes…quick and easy!

Leave a Reply

