Tonight is pizza night!

10 May

I have an embarrassing confession to make…the duck challenge remains unconquered…So much for my fantastic ‘one recipe per week’ idea! I started with the best intentions, but unfortunately  life got in the way and knocked me off track! (Deep, I know!)

On a positive note, the preparations are well underway. I’ve sourced the duck and translated the recipe (I think), I just have to lock in a night to cook it and someone to enjoy it with, after all, where’s the fun in cooking beautiful food when you don’t have anyone to share it with?

I do hope to have the Magret de Canard Rotis, Riz Sauté aux Legumes recipe cooked, critiqued and on the page by the end of the week (eeek!!) so I’ll say it again…watch this space…please!?!

Thankfully I haven’t been dining out and ordering takeaway ALL week, so I do have another update for you. As promised, I tried and tasted the mystery pizza dough recipe and can confirm that it was a huge success! You seriously won’t believe how easy it is until you try it yourself.

My must-have ‘impromptu gourmet pizza night’ recipe

  • 1 cup self-raising flour (I used wholemeal to make it a little healthier, but plain flour works just as well)
  • ½ cup of natural yoghurt

Sift the flour into a big bowl (re-add the husks if using wholemeal flour). Add the yoghurt and mix to form dough. Add a little bit more yoghurt, if needed, to incorporate all the flour and get the right dough consistency.

Divide the dough up into as many little balls as you want to make pizzas – this recipe makes enough for 2 large pizzas or 3 smaller sized ones.

Then all you have to do is roll the dough out into rough circles, of about 0.5cm thickness(on a lightly floured surface), and you’re done!

THAT’S IT!!!!

To make these the very best bases you’ve ever tried, you absolutely have to cook them on a pizza stone. If you don’t have one, get one. They’re only about $20 at kitchenware stores like Robins Kitchen and worth every cent, in my opinion.

In case this has inspired you to make pizza, and I very much hope it has, I’ve decided to throw in two recipes for the price of one today, and share with you a creation of my own! This one was largely put together out of what I had in the fridge at the time and it turned out to be fabulously, excellently superb!

Autumn Fig & Prosciutto Pizza

  • A couple of lovely ripe figs, sliced lengthways
  • Goat’s cheese
  • A few slices of prosciutto, roughly torn
  • Rosella jam (or any other not-so-sweet jam)
  • Dried thyme
  • Rocket
  • A handful of red grapes, halved (optional)

If using a pizza stone, preheat your oven to 200°C with the stone in the oven. Take the stone out when you’re ready to top the pizza & place your pizza base on the stone.

Brush your lovely thin base with a light covering of olive oil and sprinkle with dried thyme. Spread figs & grapes evenly over base (make sure grapes are cut-side up). Place torn prosciutto on top and then dollop half teaspoons of jam & goat’s cheese evenly around the pizza.

Cook pizza at 200°C for approx 10-15 minutes, until base is crispy and the prosciutto & cheese are lightly browned.

When the pizza is cooked, remove from the oven, slice and finish with fresh rocket. I recommend serving with a slightly chilled pinot noir 🙂

That’s it for now guys. Enjoy!

Oh, and please, don’t be a stranger…I’d love to hear from you! Suggest or request!

Miss Piggie x

2 Responses to “Tonight is pizza night!”

  1. Zara May 14, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    Ohhhh…yummmmm. Such a delicious-looking and unique mix of ingredients. Any chance of posting me a slice over here in New Zealand please?!

  2. Lauren May 31, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    OMG lmp – tried this recipe tonight and it was an absolute hit! I must admit I was a little sceptical about the yoghurt containing base but that was the clincher for me. Definately adding this one to my quick and tasty midweek repertoire. Please keep the deliciousness coming!

Leave a comment