Dessert for the baking averse!

9 Aug

To be honest, I had no plans to share this recipe with you so you’ll have to forgive me for my vague instructions.

I’ve been sitting on it for a little while, unsure about whether it was worthy. The truth is, I was concerned that it’s so basic it might kill my street cred. Contrarily, its simplicity was the thing that compelled me to share it with you. Well, that and the fact that I realised the aforementioned street cred was likely a figment of my imagination!

I don’t even have much to say about it (for once). I often make crumble when I’m in the mood for dessert but don’t feel like going to the shops for ingredients. This just happened to be what was in my cupboard and freezer at the time, and just so happened to be the nicest crumble I’ve made to date – win!

Peachy raspberry crumble

(Serves 4-6)

  • Frozen raspberries

    A really yummy and unbelievably simple after dinner treat

  • Tinned peaches
  • ¾ cup oats or untoasted muesli ( i like using muesli because it adds a bit of extra flavour and crunch)
  • 1 cup Wholemeal plain flour
  • Handful of slivered almonds (optional)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup Brown sugar
  • ½ cup of butter – cubed
  • Extra butter for baking
  • REALLY good vanilla ice cream (preferably the posh stuff speckled with vanilla seeds if you can justify it*)

Note: You can use ramekins or big baking dish, depending on how many people you’re cooking for. I made these in individual ramekins.

It’s worthwhile taking the butter out of the fridge 30mins or so before needed so it’s a little easier to work with.

Method

Combine the dry ingredients in a bowl.

Add butter and mix it through the dry ingredients using your fingers until the mixture resembles clumpy, pebbled crumbs.

Layer peach slices in ramekins or baking dish. Use your judgement as to the amount you use – I probably filled the ramekins 2/3 of the way with the fruit . Add raspberries so they are fairly evenly dotted amongst the lovely bright orange peaches. If you’re using ramekins I would add approx 5 or 6 per serving. For bigger dishes, it depends on the size, but use your common sense as to how many to add!

You can put it together up to this point and set the ramekins/baking dish aside until dinner is finito!

When you’re ready to get your bake on, pour the crumble mixture over the peaches and raspberries. I read one recipe that suggested you mix a spoonful through the fruit for a bit of added texture before covering the top with the crumble. Again, it is up to you how much you use. I just added the crumble mix ‘til it reached the top of the ramekin.

Then…for a touch of added wickedness, thinly slice 4-6 pieces of butter (like you would a slice of cheese) and lay one piece on top of the crumble in each ramekin. If you’re using a baking dish, evenly spread butter over the top (maybe 6 slices all up).

Bake for approx 30-40 mins until tantalisingly golden brown. Remove from oven and leave to cool for a few minutes, before serving with posh vanilla bean ice cream or some naughty double cream!

* I’m a bit precious when it comes to ice cream…I don’t eat it that often, so if I’m going to indulge, I do it properly!

‘Til next time fellow food lovers,

Miss Piggie aka La Petite Cochon 🙂

Leave a Reply

