:Summer loving: :Loving summer:

17 Oct

*Philosophising

Harking back to my philosophy on food, this recipe is a perfect example of how preparing delicious gourmet eats doesn’t have to be difficult or time consuming.

I truly find it inspiriting when I try something that is equally effortless to make and impressive to the palette. In fact that’s the whole reason I started this blog; so I could share the recipes that get me excited about cooking & eating with my food-loving friends.

So here’s a dish I think everyone should try. I don’t care if you hate cooking, ‘don’t have time’, or just think it belongs in the ‘too hard basket’. Try it. And let me know what you think. I promise this dish will highly impress your wife, new girlfriend, in-laws, foodie mates or whoever else you’re aiming to wow.

After all, if you have a good recipe to follow, the hard work is already done. No excuses.

Ceviche de Sierra

With summer stretching out its inviting hand and teasing us with a few beautiful balmy days of late, I was inspired to share my idea of the perfect summer dinner-party starter – Kingfish Ceviche, or Ceviche de Sierra.

Seafood incites a sense of nostalgia in me, but not in a good way…

You see, as a youngster I was vehemently opposed to the idea of any sort of seafood. I hated both the taste and texture. Looking back I was a bit of a brat about it, but I hated it so much that I had a sneaky assortment of tricks I would resort to in order to avoid having to ingest it whenever it was put on my plate (of which i won’t go into!)

Thinking back, I’m fairly unimpressed with my younger self. Seafood is one of life’s great indulgences, and for many, fresh seafood is a rare luxury.

As a fairly recent convert I am proud to say that I’ll try near anything that’s put in front of me these days (I have my food-loving, iron-stomached fiancé to thank for this!). He has been chipping away at my tolerance and adventurism with marine life for a few years now and has succeeded. Even when it’s raw!

Ceviche de Sierra…

Lying somewhere on the spectrum between raw and poached, ceviche is prepared by marinating seafood in citrus juice or another acid without applying any heat. The acid interacts with the protein in the fish, essentially cooking it and killing any bacteria.

I’m really conscious of only using the best quality and freshest seafood when making ceviche, as it is not cooked with heat at any stage. The Fish Markets are the pick of the bunch in Sydney – look out for the sashimi grade options.

I have adapted this recipe from one I came across on Gourmet Traveller website. All the flavours and textures work together brilliantly to create a dish with the prefect balance of sweetness, tart and some serious bite. It is pre-ttttty amazing!

All this recipe really requires is preparation. Prepare the fish and arrange the rest of the ingredients nicely on the plate and you’re done. See, I told you it was easy!

INGREDIENTS

(serves 4)

  • 200g Skinless kingfish fillet, thinly sliced
  • Juice of 1 lime, or to taste, plus lime wedges
  • A small handful of pickled jalapeño slices, diced
  • 2 tsp oregano
  • 1 avocado, halved and thinly sliced, lengthways
  • 1 shallot, thinly sliced
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp pomegranate seeds
  • ½ bunch of coriander, torn roughly

HOW TO

1. Combine the kingfish in a bowl with lime juice, oregano and a pinch of salt, toss to combine and leave to stand for a few minutes

2.    Lay avocado flat on individual serving plates. Divide kingfish amongst the plates (reserving marinating liquid) and top with coriander, shallot, jalapeño, and pomegranate seeds. Drizzle with olive oil and finish with a touch of the marinating liquid. Serve immediately with lime wedges.

3:2:1

I can’t think of a better way to enjoy kingfish ceviche than with a refreshing margarita…and it just so happens that margaritas have been at the top of my drinks hit list for the last couple of months (blame them for my post hiatus).  The best thing about margaritas is that you can remember the recipe, no matter how many you have had!

Margaritas

INGREDIENTS

(serves 4)

  • 3 parts tequila (make sure you buy the good stuff!)
  • 2 parts freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 1 part triple sec (or Cointreau)
  • To serve
  • Lime wedges
  • Salt

*For 4 people, start with 6 shots of tequila, 4 shots of lime juice and 1 shot of triple sec

HOW TO

If you have time, chill the martini glasses in the freezer for an hour or so before they are needed.

When ready, rub a lime around the rim of the glasses and dip into a plate of salt

Pour tequila, lime juice and triple sec into a cocktail shaker over ice. Shake and strain into glasses. Voi-la. Margarita madness.

Just before I sign off, I think I should slip in a little ‘thankya’ to my lovely parents for persevering with their plight to get me eating seafood. I think you’ll agree that they can finally claim victory!

That’s all for now,

LMP x

Leave a Reply

